Much Ado about Christmas

Ahhhh Christmas… My FAVORITE time of year! This year it felt like it all went way too fast, and I think part of that was where Thanksgiving fell late in November this year.

The weekend right after Thanksgiving we went out to get our Christmas tree. For the first time ever, we went to a lovely family-owned farm out 30 miles east from us that a friend had recommended. It was quite a drive but a pretty one and it smelled SO unbelievably good out there surrounded by lovely Christmas trees ready to be cut and taken home. We ended up getting two this year and put one on our front porch with lights plus the one inside. I LOVED our tree this year! It was kind of an old-fashioned Noble fir with plenty of room between branches. I would have kept it up all year if I could have 🙂

photo 1

photo 2

photo 4\

photo 2

This was also my first year having my new matching stockings and it was fun hanging them on our mantle!

photo 1

Also exciting this year was seeing the kids show a lot of interest in our advent calendar – the very advent calendar that my sweet Mama made for my siblings and me when we were little. Yes, this calendar has seen a lot of love over the years and this year was no exception. Even Nolan got in on the action! Of course, it probably helped that he realized that there was a little chocolate in there each day awaiting him, haha 🙂

photo 3

I was super blessed this year because I was able to host a Christmas Eve get together with my entire side of the family! All 4 of my siblings and their families flew or drove in from out of state (and believe me when I say that this is a miracle because they live in So Cal, Alaska and North Carolina!). It was a joy-filled time for sure!

image_1

IMG_3953

IMG_3957

image_2

image_3

image_6

This same week, we had Auntie Mar & Uncle Jonathan staying with us for the first time since their wedding in May. It was wonderful getting to spend lots of time with them!

image

Nolan’s favorite discovery over Christmas was the joys of eating whipping cream from a can. All you had to do was put a little pile of it on a plate and he was a happy camper!

image_5

image_4

What a week it was! On top of the get together with my siblings and their fams, we had about 5 other get togethers with family on both sides so it was a busy busy time. It was nice having Liam home from school for two weeks but now he is happily back in the swing of things. We are so excited for 2014 and can’t wait to see what fun memories it will bring. Though I don’t do resolutions persay, I do have some hopes for the year:

– Get better about reading my Bible every day (or close to it)
– Expand my garden and try growing some new things
– Push past my introvert comfort zone and spend time getting to know people better

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Much Ado about Christmas

  1. Masterfully done, Kelly, great writing, fun pics and I love the NY resolution about comfort zone. David says you totally pulled load for him in recent meeting w/ fam at the store …
    — Kelly

Leave a Reply

