Nolan’s Birth Story

Ok, I’m going to try to type up Nolan’s birth story here quickly while he is asleep and before I forget it all. Here it goes!

My due date was November 13th. It came and went and I was still VERY pregnant. I knew I was starting to dilate because at my 39 week appointment I was 2 cm dilated and at my November 15th appointment I was 4 cm dilated but still not in labor! My OB and I decided to induce me the next morning and I was THRILLED at that point that an end to my pregnancy was coming soon. I’m always nervous about inducing because it can raise your risk of a C-section but usually that is only the case if you aren’t really dilating yet and the induction isn’t able to kick your body into full blown labor enough to get you dilated. In my case, since I was already 4 cm and had such a swift labor with Lauren, my Dr was confident it would go great and not be a problem.

We were told to check in to the hospital at 7:30am on the 16th. David’s mom came to our house at 7am to watch the kids and I was so happy that they weren’t sad to see us go šŸ™‚ She had promised them she would make sugar cookies with them, so I’m sure that helped ease any anxiety about Mom & Dad leaving, haha. Anyway, we left the kids in great hands and made our way to the hospital.

IMG_3137

It’s very bizarre going in for an induction because I was obviously not in labor, but i knew that VERY soon I would be in the throes of full blown labor. We got checked in and met my nice Labor & Delivery nurse Alison. She couldn’t find any orders from my Dr so she just got my IV going and we waited for him to arrive. He arrived at 9 and was dismayed to see that no Pitocin had been started yet! I guess he had faxed over my orders but they hadn’t come through. Since we were already behind the schedule he had imagined, he broke my bag of waters right away and simultaneously had the nurse finally start Pitocin. Here’s a picture right before this all got going. I was nervously reading the information booklet at my hospital bed šŸ™‚

IMG_3133

It wasn’t until 10:00 that labor really got going hard. I had an open mind to begin with about getting an epidural or not. I had one with Lauren for the last 45 minutes or so of labor and it really helped, but I was hopeful maybe I could do without one. The nurse checked me around 11:20 and I was now 5 cm. Here I am breathing through a bad contraction on a birthing ball.

IMG_3134

I was a little discouraged because I was hoping I would deliver even faster than with Lauren but it didn’t seem to be going that way. Meanwhile, they were turning up the Pitocin two separate times and my contractions were REALLY starting to get horrific. I finally looked at David and said, “Call her and get the epidural. I just want to lay down in the bed and watch a good TV show.” He made the call and soon various personnel were coming in and out prepping me for that.

I got my epidural around 11:40 and instantly felt SOOO much better. We were watching an E! True Hollywood Story about Justin Bieber and I was laughing about the fact that here I was in labor and able to watch something so mindless šŸ™‚ 12:15 rolled around and I encouraged David to run down to the cafeteria and grab some lunch since it was taking a little longer than I had hoped and I knew he was starving. He said he would go quickly and be right back.

A minute after he left, I heard Nolan’s heartrate take a major nosedive and asked the nurse about it as I was a little concerned. She said, “Hmmm… let me check you real quick.” She looked up at me quickly and said, “YOU’RE COMPLETE!!! Call David back here right now! You’re ready to push!” She quickly called for backup and had the nurses call my Dr back (he was in a meeting at the time). At 12:43 I started pushing. I pushed through 3 contractions and 7 minutes later Nolan arrived! It was so cool because my Dr let David catch the baby and he was amazed with the whole experience.

IMG_3140

So, although I had been thinking that my labor was going slowly, I ended up going from 5 to 10 cm in an hour! The entire “active labor” was only 2 hours and 50 minutes. I am so thankful I was able to have another successful VBAC (Vaginal Birth After Caesarean) and not have to deal with a more difficult C-section recovery. God is so good and we are so happily enjoying our new life as a family of 5!

Here’s a few more recent pics of Nolan to complete the post:

IMG_3255

IMG_3274

IMG_3268

IMG_3211

One thought on “Nolan’s Birth Story

Leave a Reply

