Me vs. Snickers

During my first pregnancy, I was working at an office job where I sat most of the day and unfortunately partook in just about every goodie that coworkers brought into the office. David still laughs when I tell the story of how I would “limit” myself to 8 pieces of fudge in a day – or at least I would TRY to do so (it was Christmas time, so there was fudge A LOT). Anyway, it’s embarrassing to think back and realize just how much junk I ate, but I was craving sweets in a big way and just felt hungrier in general than I ever had.

Fast forward to the end of that pregnancy and I had gained nearly 60 pounds. Not pretty. πŸ™‚ I had 3 chins when i gave birth to Liam, haha. However, I was only 25 at the time and had the metabolism of a rockstar. I lost ALL the weight and more in slightly less than 6 months. It just melted off.

With Lauren, my pregnancy cravings were different. I craved more savory/salty things and I was also not around all the workplace food temptations anymore since I was a stay-at-home mom at that point. I did a lot better with that pregnancy and only gained about 40 pounds. However, it was over 2 years later and my metabolism seemed to have changed a bit. It took me about 9 months to lose the weight this time, and that was with having gained 20 pounds less! It was frustrating being stuck in my “fat pants” for so long but I refused to buy more in that bigger size because I was hopeful the weight would come off in time. And it eventually did.

Now this third time around, I am fighting an epic battle against my nearly constant cravings for SNICKERS BARS!!!! I wake up thinking about these things and I go to bed at night wishing I had one to eat. The difference is, this time I anticipate my weight loss to take even LONGER postpartum due to me being even older, so I have to say NO way more often than I say YES to this craving. I wish I could eat them more but I just don’t want to gain the 60 pounds again if i can help it. Plus, did you know a regular sized one is 280 calories?! That’s almost the total amount of extra calories that a pregnant woman needs in a day!

But it’s obnoxious how often these things show up. When I’m not pregnancy, I probably had a Snickers bar a few times a year MAX. Now, I could eat one every day and they are there in my face every time I’m at a grocery store. I was even at a thrift store today buying a few baby items and they had Snickers by the checkout counter! ARGH!

Anyway, Snickers may try to lure me in with their delicious combo of chocolate, nougat, caramel and peanuts and Snickers may occasionally win the battle, but I will win the war πŸ˜‰

6 thoughts on “Me vs. Snickers

  1. you are hilarious! my mother in law keeps a stash of mine and Ben’s fave candy bars at her house ALL THE TIME. We are there at least once a week, it’s awful…and so delicious.

    • Shandell, that sounds like heaven πŸ™‚ When we were at my in-laws’ house this past weekend, they had a bunch Snickers and other candy bars in bite-size candies and it was awful – i couldn’t stop!

  2. Oh I totally understand. I don’t normally like a lot of sweet things, but when I was pregnant I had a stash of chocolate in my desk drawer – next to the fruit of course. πŸ™‚ Fortunately I’ve only got 10 pounds to go, but I really miss my favourite jeans!

  3. I never really had cravings with Thad, but with Thatcher, I couldn’t get enough of RUNTS. Totally bizarre, but I ate more than my fair share of those delicious candies! You are right though…every year that goes by, the post-baby loss is harder. You can do it! In the mean time, don’t be too hard on yourself, sometimes it’s worth the calories of a Snickers bar to be a happy Mamma! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

