Beginnings of Summer

I figure it’s about time for another post. Haha, I’m such a dedicated blogger, can’t you tell? πŸ™‚

So summer is definitely beginning here, which is ironic because as I’m writing this it’s rainy outside and grey, haha. Oh well, we live in Oregon. Plus, I get really bad allergies in June so I actually love it when it rains so it calms down the pollens. Anyway, we had a really warm week a few weeks back and I was surprised at how much my pregnant body is NOT liking heat this time around! It’s funny how you forget these things in between pregnancies. Liam was a May baby so I didn’t have to be pregnant in hot weather, but Lauren was September so I was HUGE in the heat. Thank goodness for a/c! I have a feeling I’ll be spending a lot of time staying cool indoors again this time around.

So, I’m 17 weeks and 2 days pregnant now. Now that I’m well into the second trimester, I can say that my biggest complaint is just being tired. I’m not usually a napper but these days I find myself laying down at least whenever I can. We have our “big ultrasound” on June 18th so hopefully baby will not be shy and we will find out the gender. I am really antsy to know so I can start the planning. I know we have one of each so in theory it sounds like we should be set, but if it’s a boy, I’ll still need to find some new little baby clothes because Liam’s little baby clothes are all warm weather. Plus, I have WAAAAAY too much clothing saved from Liam’s infancy & toddlerhood so I decided that if I’m having a girl, I’m going to go through all 4 or 5 of those bins and maybe downsize into one or two, just in case we decide to have a fourth baby and it’s a boy. I don’t want to lug around too much clothing though. Here’s a picture from last week when I was 16w4d prego. This was taken in the morning so I am at my smallest – by the end of the day, I feel twice this size from bloating! Haha!

Here’s a couple pics my father-in-law sent me recently from when they made a birthday cake for Liam last month. Lauren decided it looked too good to wait, so she took a huge bite right out of it!

And as you can imagine, big brother thought that was hilarious and decided to follow suit πŸ™‚

Anyway, we’re starting to think more about summer – picking berries, playing in the kiddie pool (in the shade!), the occasional free park lunch, and much more. I may even be brave enough to try to take them both to one of those summer kid-friendly cheap movies at the local movie theatres – although I’m not sure how long they would last πŸ˜‰ I am most excited about summer because it means we’re getting closer & closer to meeting our new baby, due in November. I cannot WAIT to meet this little one!

One thought on “Beginnings of Summer

Leave a Reply

