Saying Adios to a “Spirit of Heaviness”

In the past almost-two years since my Mom died, there have been many days and periods in which I would describe myself as battling a “spirit of heaviness”. It can be hard to feel joyful some days and it becomes easy to let anxiety and fear creep in and take over any and every space in my life.

When I felt myself letting fear and worry win the battle yesterday afternoon, I decided enough was enough. I decided it was time to do battle against this feeling in my life. So although i was feeling very negative about a specific situation, I started walking around my home declaring praise to God about every little thing that I was THANKFUL for in that circumstance. One by one, I went back to the basics, PRAISING God for all the blessings he has put in my life. As I declared praise after praise, I felt that spirit of heaviness lift little by little. Although I didn’t think it was possible, I soon felt calmer and felt a new sense of joy filling me. My perspective changed entirely, just like that.

To keep it going, I got out my Bible and read some encouraging passages about worry and about trusting God with all your heart. I turned on my ipod and blared worship music through our home. Tears fell down my face as I rejoiced in feeling the presence of God. Time and time again, I’ve seen that if we will just take the time to seek out God, He ALWAYS meets us there!

So today, I just want to encourage you. If you find yourself dealing with a similar spirit of heaviness, take the time to pour out your heart to God. Tell him what you are thankful for. Tell him your needs. He wants to hear from you!

And for further encouragement, check out my Dad’s study on this here. He has some awesome encouraging verses and a step by step approach to experiencing spiritual renewal.

Lastly, here is the song that popped into my head this morning as I was reflecting on all this:

And remember, this isn’t a one-time battle. This world is so full of distractions and things to stress out about. So we need to ACTIVELY seek God and ask Him to take control of our lives. Blessings to you today!

3 thoughts on “Saying Adios to a “Spirit of Heaviness”

  1. Kelly, that’s a great victory. My experience was very similar. After the devastating loss of Mom two years ago this month, I began to experience recovery and healing from the time I began to praise the Lord for the great 38 years she and I had together. It was that change to a heart of praise and gratitude to God that began my healing in earnest.

    Love, Dad

  2. Kel – I love this. Isn’t it great how the Lord presents “opportunities” for us to overcome the things that try to keep us down? He is so faithful. Love you.

Leave a Reply

