Maui 2011 … and my sister moving

We just got back this week from Maui, our favorite vacation spot! My sister got to join us this time, as well as the kiddos of course. It was such a relaxing time and our oceanfront condo was just PERFECT! We stayed a little to the north of where we have stayed in the past, and this was a very serene, quiet location.

Here’s just a few pictures from the trip! Liam’s highlight (which you will see below) was going to the Maui Ocean Center. He spent hours running back and forth between massive tanks squealing with delight at all the sharks, rays, eels, and everything you can imagine!

And now for the other part of this post… My sister spent some time in Alaska before meeting up with us in Maui, and while in Maui she decided that the Lord was leading her to move to Alaska for a time. So today we said goodbye to her and her filled-to-the-brim Honda Civic as she drove off to her future. To say that I am sad about this would be the understatement of the year. But at the same time, I feel that this will be a good time in her life and that the Lord has good things ahead for her. Nonetheless, it will still take me awhile to get used to the pit in my stomach about when I think about how far away she will be. Not to mention that my younger brother & his wife recently moved to Boston! So now we’re QUITE spread out!

At times it seems that these past 3 years have been riddled with trial after trial, but I just have a good feeling that my family is entering into a new season. I have hope for the future and I keep feeling reminded of this verse: Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

And here is the song that is my encouragement at the moment:

2 thoughts on “Maui 2011 … and my sister moving

  1. Dear Kelly….I know that you miss your sis so much. Please know that we will take good care of her. As I was reading your blog, I had a picture of a seed…being blown in the wind, gently and carefully. Perhaps this represents Mary Anne as the spirit of the Lord guides her for this time and season.

    Life sure seems full of changes…we never get to hold onto anything for long. The cycle of life keeps moving forward, and the older we get it feels like it moves faster and faster. It is hard to resolve, especially when it comes to letting go of the things and people we care about the most. I guess that is the part of us that will never quite be settled until we get to heaven, get to our eternal home.

    Your comments hit a tender nerve, and I feel the saddness too.

    I try to never take anything for granted, and treasure the precious gifts, and life that the Lord has given. You are one of those treasures.

    With love,

    Aunt bonbon

  2. Aw, I just found this post! 😦 I’m sorry I moved so far… And I’m thankful for relatively easy flights between us! God had many great purposes in mind for my replanting. Now you get to come visit and see two of the “fruit” of it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

