Heart attacks and trying to decompress

I’m not even quite sure what to say here… I have so many emotions swirling about in my heart and my head, and I can’t quite simplify them enough to write a rational thought.

The main thing is this – my dad suffered a heart attack this past Sunday.

MY DAD, the one whose Dad just passed away at 95 last year and whose mom is 93 and still alive & well. So needless to say, a heart attack at age 67 (almost 68 – two days before his birthday) was not really on our radar.

If there’s one thing I learned with the passing of my mom a little over a year ago, it was that you can’t assume that people will be in your life for a long time. This life isn’t perfect, and sad things happen all the time. So I’ve tried to adjust to a new way of living where I live like each day could be my last with my loved ones. I know, it sounds morbid, but it’s just where I’ve ended up after almost dying in the car accident (along with my husband, baby boy in utero, my dad and my mom) and then losing my mom to cancer a little under 2 years after that.

I just keep seeing time & again how fleeting our lives on this earth are. We can be here one minute and gone the next. Only what we do for Jesus will last.

So back to feelings… I feel shocked, bewildered, angry, overwhelmed, and THANKFUL that my Dad survived the heart attack. I am thankful that they were able to put a stent in to the clogged artery and open it back up for healthy blood flow. I am thankful that the medical field has advanced so greatly in the cardiac realm in the past decade even and that there are also medicines out there to help keep your risks down for recurrence.

Dad was discharged yesterday from the hospital about noon and is home resting. He’ll start cardiac rehab next week and do it for 12 weeks time. His diet will become very low fat and low sodium, but he is very willing to make these changes. He has a lot to live for and plans to stick around a long time! He’ll be marrying a lovely new bride next month and we are so happy that the lovely Linda is a part of our lives now. They are a great match and I want to see them grow very old together.

So please join me in praying for a full recovery of my Dad’s heart, for no further issues with atrial fibrillation and for God’s peace to cover all of us. And if you have some positive heart attack survival stories to share with me, please feel free! I love hearing uplifting stories about people that have survived and gone on to continue long, healthy lives.

Thank you for all the prayers that you prayed this past week for me and my family, too. We felt them!!

2 thoughts on “Heart attacks and trying to decompress

  1. Thanks, hon. Very well said. It was quite a trial for all of us. But the Lord’s help was always evident, and the support of my loved ones was invaluable. I feel really good today, my first morning in a while waking up in my own bed, not in a hospital bed. I’m thankful to all for your prayers and support, and to the Lord, whom Linda and I hope to be able to continue serving together for many, many years — in good health!

  2. Praising the Lord with all the Feeney Family. What the enemy meant for evil, God turned around for good in all these trials. Good God/Bad Devil. Live long and prosper, according to God’s great plans for you. Thank you for sharing Kelly. My heart understands the anxiety you were feeling. The Bible and the insight in Hope Endelman’s book are helpful in understanding our feelings. My prayers will continue for all of you. Love in Christ.

Leave a Reply

