Easter 2011

I really enjoy Easter. Although I’m not so much into the commercial aspect of it, there is still some fun to be had when you have young kids in your life. I remember growing up we didn’t ever do actual Easter egg hunts that I can remember, but my mom would hide our Easter baskets in the most random places throughout the house and we’d have to find those. Anyway, it was a lot of fun, but back to the REAL point of Easter: I LOVE that there is a holiday celebrating specifically what Jesus did for us! What a joy it was this year to start the day explaining to Liam and Lauren about why this day was special – how Jesus had died for them and then ROSE from the dead. I know that kids this age don’t really understand all this stuff, but I still feel like it’s important to talk about it even while they are still very young.

Anyway, we talked a short little while about it, then Liam was very happy to get a his Easter basket (which I forgot to take a picture of, drat!). We had a hurried little morning as David had to be at the church at 8:30 for ushering, so to avoid taking two cars, we left early, too. Here’s two pictures right before we raced out the door:

After a great church service, we had a nice time at my in-laws’ house for a delicious Easter dinner along with a lot of David’s extended family. I was really happy that my sister was able to come with us, too. Since my mom has passed away, I really cherish my relationship with my sister more than ever before.

Anyway, speaking of my sis, she snagged this pic on her iPhone on the way back from my inlaws’ house. These two kiddos had a LOOOOONG day 🙂

Leave a Reply

