Happy Birthday to my sweet Mama

“My mother was the most beautiful woman I ever saw. All I am I owe to my mother. I attribute all my success in life to the moral, intellectual and physical education I received from her.”— George Washington

Dear Mom,

Today is your birthday! You would have turned 63 today. I wish that you were here … I would make you whatever kind of cake you wanted. Last year, it was Boston Creme Pie and you even ate a big piece of it, even though you weren’t feeling well. I remember how guilty I felt for wondering if this would be the last birthday I would spend with you.

Do they celebrate birthdays in heaven? I hope so, because the day you were born was a special one. What a gift you were to us. You were one of a kind, Mom! You were so full of life, such a hard worker, yet such an adventurer. You made life interesting & fun for us growing up!

Life has gone on since you left us, but of course it’s different. We keep going because that’s just what you do, but I still think of you so often. How I wish that you could know Lauren and that you could see how much Liam has changed. How I wish I could sit outside in the sun with you on a nice day and just chat with some iced tea in hand. How I wish you were here. But I know that you are so happy right now, so worry-free and full of perfect joy. I know that I’ll get to spend lots of time with you in heaven one day, and I look forward to it!

I love you, Mom. Happy Birthday!

Love,
Kelly

P.S. If Liam were here to help you blow out your candles, here is the joyful look you would get to see 🙂 (The in-laws threw an early bday party for me on Sunday and he LOVED blowing them out!)

5 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to my sweet Mama

  1. Kelly,
    I so adored your mother. She was one of the most amazing women I ever had the privilege of meeting. I truly was in awe of her, yet she also made me feel so comfortable and welcome. She is making the Lord so happy, now. I’m sure He couldn’t wait till she came “home” so she got to go early. Someday, we’ll all be “home” too and get to enjoy the Lord and be together, once again. Thinking of that is such a wonderful thought. You are so much like your mother, by the way. She does live on as I watch you emulate her life as you raise your children. What a joy to her you must be as I’m sure she gets to peek in on you from time to time and say, “Go Kelly!” Blessings to you as you celebrate her wonderful life and her birthday!
    Much love,
    Lori Harpham

  2. I know your kids will think of you when they see that quote – and agree with it whole-heartedly – as you continue the legacy of Godly mother that your mother laid down for you. What a woman she was. Thinking of you. Love you, dear.

Leave a Reply

