Happy Things


(Liam last year in front of my parents’ Christmas tree)

In the spirit of Christmas and December (one of my FAVORITE months of the year), I’ll mention some things that make me HAPPY these days!

1) My sister being down from college for Christmas break – yay!!!!!! It’s fun how our 6-year age difference seems to be less and less noticeable each year as we get older. She is so much fun and today we are making Christmas cookies πŸ™‚

2) Liam’s love of coloring! I feel like he is so much older than 2.5 sometimes lately. This morning, he walked out of his room into the kitchen, turned on the light by himself, and started coloring with his crayons and coloring book at the table. When did he get so independent!?

3) David’s raise – just in time for Christmas, my hard-working hubby got a change in his compensation package that is a great thing for our family. Praise God for his provision!

4) Dad’s successful eye surgeries – My dad recently had cataracts moved in both of his eyes (they did each eye about 5 weeks apart) and the final one was done yesterday. Thankful that things seem to have gone well.

5) Lauren’s low-maintenance self – I didn’t want to say much early on in case her personality changed, but now at almost 3-months-old, Lauren continues to be a wonderfully mellow little gal! We are so thankful for her! She tolerates her older brother’s noise without crying, sleeps pretty well for her age (wakes up once or twice from 7:00pm-7:00am, but only to eat) and loves to interact with us. She is such a smiley little girl. Oh how we love her!!

6) A fun visit with old-time friends – My 4 siblings and some of their family members plus my dad all went up to Brush Prairie, WA to watch the Civil War duck game with our old-time family friends from Alaska this past weekend. It was a fun time and made me remember all the wonderful times we had with them and with my mom over the years.

7) Christmas cookies – Making mom’s signature recipe today! Chocolate pistachio thumbprint cookies. And yes, they are even better than they sound πŸ™‚

8.) Grandpa Gene’s fudge – I may be making THAT today, too! Bring on the seasonal memorable recipes!

Anyway, that’s all for now.


(Can you believe this was how my mom set her table last Christmas? This was less than 3 months before she died, she was not doing any more treatment/chemo and was very weak, yet she wanted it to be special for Christmas. What a wonderful woman!)

7 thoughts on “Happy Things

  1. So many happy things, Kelly!! πŸ™‚ And…I LOVE those cookies!!! πŸ™‚ I can’t believe Lauren sleeps that well at night already…jealous!!! hee hee But I’m happy for you!!! πŸ™‚

    • Bethany, I guess I paid my dues with Liam, who woke up every 2 hours FOREVER and didn’t really sleep through the night until he was 2!!!! πŸ™‚ But now more than ever, I am a firm believer that babies will sleep according to their personalities rather than us being able to MAKE them sleep how we want. I did all the right things with Liam according to the books, and he wasn’t going to sleep well until he was ready to! πŸ™‚

  2. Beautiful blog Kelly! Love the graphics and tender thoughts of love you have expressed. The picture of your mom’s table touched my heart. Thank you for sharing your life with others…with me through this media. I love and appreciate you.

  3. Kelly, I always love reading your blogs you have a great gift of expressing your feelings when you write. It is a strange thing that life can still be so good when you have suffered a great loss, but then you realize that some of the reasons life is so good is the heritage you have, the things your mom instilled in you. You & Mary Anne are carrying on some great traditions! I love those strange sounding, yummy cookies and will always associate them with your Mom….your kids will remember them as Grandma Feeney’s recipe that you made.
    What a wonderful legacy! And the table? Simply, Mickey!
    I love you, Holiday blessings to you wonderful family!

    • Thank you, Mary! You are so sweet. Yes, Mom did leave us with a great heritage and I am thankful that I can still tell my kids about her and they will know her through me, just like I knew my mom’s mom through her and all of the stories that mom told us about her.

      Much love to you & your family! I hope you are all doing well!

  4. Hi, hon. Yes, Mom did set such a lovely table (photo above). In fact, I’m sitting at that very table typing this on my laptop! We’ll never stop missing her. But in the spectrum of eternity, it will be in the blink of an eye that we’ll all be reunited again!

    Love, Dad

Leave a Reply

