Dog days of summer

The weather forecast is calling for mid-to-low 90’s for the next 5+ days. Definitely the dog days of summer! And definitely makes me thank the Lord every day that we installed a/c in our house a few years ago soon before Liam was born. I’m not a huge fan of the heat…

In fact, as much as I have been enjoying this summer (especially once grass pollen season was over!), I LOVE the fall and cannot WAIT for fall weather. I love the fall days where there’s a slight breeze but it’s not cold, but just cold enough that you want a light sweatshirt. And we do still get some really nice days in September and sometimes even October still.

Anyway, this year’s fall (well, technically probably a little before fall starts) will be bringing us our new little babe! And in some ways, this will be almost like our first time having a newborn again. After Liam was born, David was still so injured and in so much pain that he wasn’t able to help with much for several months, as he couldn’t even move his arm without excruciating pain, nevermind the fact that his fingers on his left hand were mostly paralyzed for months while the nerve damage healed. So I literally changed almost EVERY newborn diaper that ever existed, simply because David wasn’t able to use his other arm (and was also walking with a cane for quite awhile due to a fracture in his leg, too).

Not only that, but I was also having to tend to David’s wounds over that first month or two, re-bandaging his arm and knee every day and helping him with a lot of things. (This reminds me – we owe a major shout out to Jessie R. from church, who selflessly jumped in and took care of ALL our lawn and yard maintenance for a full 6+ weeks right after the accident – HUGE blessing). On top of all that, I was recovering from my C-section, and my parents were injured as well and in a lot of pain, so it was a bizarre newborn scenario all around.

Anyway, back to now… Lord willing, things will be a lot different this time. Even if I end up having to have another C-section, that is NOTHING compared to the trauma of Liam’s birth. It’s hard to imagine David actually BEING at the birth, actually being in my hospital room afterwards while we recover, and actually being able to relish every moment with our new little girlie. I cannot wait!!!!!

Of course, it goes without saying that there will be a lot of tears shed and a lot of sadness not having my mom here for Lauren’s birth. I already feel her absence deeply. I just pray that she is able to get a quick little glimpse from heaven that day…

2 thoughts on “Dog days of summer

  1. I can’t wait, either! Soon I’ll be holding my second grand-daughter, Lauren. And I too am hopeful that the Lord will grant Mom a peek from heaven.

    Love, Dad

  2. I’m sorry, but I really really hope there is unusually warm weather in Oregon in October. But on the other hand, I can understand your autumn loving feelings.

    Continuing to pray for you and your family. Especially at such poignant times such as this. love you.

    E

Leave a Reply

