Fragility

This week I found out that my dear childhood friend’s 20-something husband unexpectedly died this week out of the blue. My heart is so heavy thinking about her pain and the pain that her and his family are enduring.

It just has got me thinking about how FRAGILE this life is. We can be here one moment and gone the next just like that. We were so close to dying ourselves with our car accident in 2008, and then watching my mom’s decline showed me yet again just how fragile these lives of ours are.

This life is a vapor.

And this life can feel SOOO unfair.

It’s like the old saying goes, “Why do bad things happen to good people?” And I don’t have an answer… I struggle with that question myself! But the best that I can come up with is that God is sovereign, and that there will come a day when there is no more death, no more tears, no more pain.

“He will swallow up death forever. The Sovereign LORD will wipe away the tears from all faces; he will remove the disgrace of his people from all the earth. The LORD has spoken.” Isaiah 25:8

I look forward to the day when Jesus conquers death and conquers the grave. And I look forward to being reunited with my Mama. And I look forward to seeing the joy in others’ faces as they are reunited with their loved ones.

This song is dedicated to my friend – may His peace and mercy be everpresent during this time of terrible grief. I love you.

With Hope
Steven Curtis Chapman

This is not at all how
We thought it was supposed to be
We had so many plans for you
We had so many dreams
And now you’ve gone away
And left us with the memories of your smile
And nothing we can say
And nothing we can do
Can take away the pain
The pain of losing you, but …

We can cry with hope
We can say goodbye with hope
‘Cause we know our goodbye is not the end, oh no
And we can grieve with hope
‘Cause we believe with hope
(There’s a place by God’s grace)
There’s a place where we’ll see your face again
We’ll see your face again

And never have I known
Anything so hard to understand
And never have I questioned more
The wisdom of God’s plan
But through the cloud of tears
I see the Father’s smile and say well done
And I imagine you
Where you wanted most to be
Seeing all your dreams come true
‘Cause now you’re home
And now you’re free, and …

We have this hope as an anchor
‘Cause we believe that everything
God promised us is true, so …

We wait with hope
And we ache with hope
We hold on with hope
We let go with hope

2 thoughts on “Fragility

  1. It so hard to hear about your friend’s husband.
    When I looks into another’s life situation and knowi the hurt is much more than mine -it brings me back to my present state. Even though my husband and I are struggling to keep our house, I still have him.
    I will pray for your friend and the other family.
    Your cousin,
    Shelley

  2. Kelly,
    I wrote a poem and seems close to the passage written above.

    written-July 10,2010 Saturday
    We never know what will be ahead for us today, the next day or any other day.
    Sometimes there are sad events, even hardships that come our way.
    We often do not know how to handle it and that ends with, ‘What are we to do’?
    If we had a solution to all the problems then that would be way easy too.
    Yet, the problem –solving that comes with the unwelcomed times are processes.
    The growth makes us stronger through the messes.
    by Shelley Ann Katz
    skatz37@aol.com

Leave a Reply

