2 Eskimos

I found this picture the other day and it made me smile. It really captures 2 things about my parents, and specifically my mom: 1) her fun-loving spirit, and 2) her love for Alaska. I mean, how Alaskan is this!? πŸ™‚

It’s been 5 weeks since Mom left us here on this earth, and we are still desperately trying to adjust to life without her. It’s still hard to wrap our brains around the fact that she is truly gone. I daily find myself still wanting to call her with parenting questions, homemaking questions, or just to tell her a story or something funny that happened. I know that time will help, and I know that you can’t rush anything in this process. It is just hard.

This weekend John & Charity came down from Portland and together with them, David, Dad & I brought in a huge load of dirt and planted a bunch of seeds in “Mickey’s Garden”. My parents have a huge raised bed (it’s like 8′ deep x 32′ long) at their house, and we added boards to section it off into 6 different raised beds. Anyway, we are doing it all in honor of Mom, because ever since they moved into that house, she talked about what she wanted to plant this summer. It was one of those things that we would talk about & distract ourselves with on tough days during mom’s illness.

Anyway, so far we planted a bunch of things, with a few more to be added in May. Some of the things we planted are: onions, sugar snap peas, bush beans, kale, lettuce, carrots, canteloupe, zucchini, tons of flowers (including marigolds, sweet peas, nasturtiums, sunflowers, cosmos, zinnias) and I’m sure I’m forgetting some things. Still to come is: corn, tomatoes, peppers (jalapeno & bell), eggplant, pumpkin and that’s all I can remember right now.

I can’t wait to watch things grow & flourish. I wish mom was here to see it, too. Who knows – maybe in heaven we get to see glimpses of things back on earth that would make us happy. I know this one would make mom happy.

3 thoughts on “2 Eskimos

  1. Hi, hon. I’m watering Mom’s garden twice a day, keeping those newly planted seeds moist. Can’t wait to see the produce. Thanks for all your help. Mom would be proud of you, as she always was.

    Love, Dad

  2. HI Kelly,
    I’ve been praying for you! I saw a quote just this weekend that made me think of you and your Mama’s garden.
    “The only feeling stronger than loss is love. Ritual is one expression of that love.” ~Anne Macaire
    It made me think that by continuing the garden, your Mama’s love is also continuing to grow.

    I looked up the quote and found this newletter from a hospice program and they have some really wonderful thoughts on grieving and support. You may want to read at some time. I also noticed they are from the “north country” not Alaska, but the Yukon. Anyways, I think of you often…
    Love, Brigetta
    http://www.hospiceyukon.net/pdf/spring_2007_news.pdf

  3. I love that picture of your parents! So cute. πŸ™‚ I know you all are going to enjoy her garden so much this summer. You all are in my prayers. Love you, Kacy

Leave a Reply

