Foolish faith?

I was looking at my blog stats this morning and I was surprised to see that some of my links that I’ve been getting are from another blog of a self-proclaimed atheist.

From the short bit that I read of this guy’s blog, it was clear to me that he scoffs at the idea of Jesus-based miraculous healing and loves to mock those who believe in such. And normally this wouldn’t bother me – after all, we are all given free will and can believe whatever we want to believe.

But then I thought, is he using my blog as just another example of a foolish Christian with foolish faith who thought they would get a miraculous healing?

And THAT bothers me.

I don’t want my mom’s death to be a discouragement to anyone. I know that she worried that if she didn’t receive her healing here on earth, that others would be disappointed.

I am not disappointed. Yes, I am very very grieved and I will NEVER forget the loss of my sweet Mama. But my faith in healing is not any less today than it was 8.5 months ago when we first found out about mom’s diagnosis.

I KNOW that God still heals today. I have seen it and I have heard first-hand accounts of many other healings. I am a result of a miracle myself! My mom was diagnosed with untreatable infertility years and years ago and God healed her and she ended up giving birth to 4 children, including me.

But beyond just my own faith, the bottom line is that we all have a choice to make: do we believe the Bible or not?

And I believe the Bible is true.

And the Bible tells me that God wishes health & life for us:

Exodus 23:25-26 Worship the LORD your God, and his blessing will be on your food and water. I will take away sickness from among you, and none will miscarry or be barren in your land. I will give you a full life span.

Psalms 103:2-3 Praise the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits — who forgives all your sins and heals all your diseases.

1 Peter 2:24 He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, so that we might die to sins and live for righteousness; by his wounds you have been healed.

So for me, the question is not DOES GOD STILL HEAL but why do we not always get the healing we believe for? And the best I can come up with is that: 1) We live in a fallen world with mortal bodies that ALL eventually die and 2) God is Sovereign and sometimes He has a plan that just isn’t how we wish it would be.

I do not believe that God GIVES sickness, but I believe that in our fallen world, sickness is unfortunately just something that comes with it. But we can still press forward for healing every day for any issue, and God is able. He is willing!

I will continue to believe in God’s healing power, no matter if it makes me look foolish or not.

8 thoughts on “Foolish faith?

  1. Amen, Kelly!! I’m glad your faith for healing is still strong! Your perspective is right on! I would rather be foolish in the eyes of the world, yet live in my faith and believe the promises of God. Dying “in faith,” without seeing what we were believing for, is foolish to the world, yet in Heb. 11, it tells us that ALL of the great people of faith didn’t receive their promises, but they died believing, and seeing the promises from afar, because God had something BETTER for ALL of us ahead TOGETHER. And I can’t wait for that BETTER!! 🙂

    You inspire me, friend!!

  2. Beautiful words Kelly. God is the same yesterday, today and forever. Miracles are still present here on this earth. His will be done though, and if we choose to let him guide our lives, no matter what, we will always find peace in all things. We are meant to pass through happiness and sorrow so that we may learn to better be like our Savior. I appreciate your Christ like thoughts, and your continued testimony. My prayers are with you.

    Kasey M.

  3. I agree with every word. You are so amazing . Your strength and courage inspires me so much Kelly. Thank you for expressing yourself. You have such a gift for it. Love Manda

  4. Kelly,
    I love how strong your faith is. You are right, our will is not God’s will but unfortunately some people fail to see that. As for the atheist, I think it is sad that they have nothing better but to mock others. I think our reaction to him is another ‘test’ that the Lord has given us. I will say a prayer for this person tonight because they are obviously in a dark place.

  5. Right on Kelly. Yet will we praise Him with you! Though we know in part and see as in a mirrror dimly, (I Corinthians 13:12) what we do know through His Word and by His Spirit leaves us not on sinking sand but anchored to a solid foundation, The Rock Christ Jesus. Though we are weak, He is strong.
    “…but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then I shall know just as I am known. And now abide faith hope and love, these three,but the greatest of these is love.” I Cor. 13:12-13

  6. Our thoughts on healing are parallel. I am grateful for Christians that stand up for what they believe in, and sometimes it’s hard to do. I know it is a struggle for me in some ways. I so admire your strength, perseverance and love for the Lord and your Mother.

Leave a Reply

