Faithful One

With the latest news about my mom, I have had a lot of different emotions. On one hand, I am very relieved for her sake that she doesn’t have to subject herself to chemo any longer. It made her feel so awful and she never wanted it to begin with; she only did it because we asked her to.

So I am relieved that chemo is done with, but there is also that sense that our “security blanket” is gone. Chemo was never going to be a “cure” for her type of cancer, but they told us that chemo can extend people’s lives 2-3 years on it with her stage of cancer. Now, the blanket is gone, but in a way, there is something so pure and so perfect about being in a place where JESUS IS OUR ONLY ANSWER.

So what do we do now? We cry out to God! 2 Corinthians 12:19 says, “But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” I think that tears and feelings of sorrow do not mean that we are doubting God’s ability to heal; to the contrary, I feel that when we show our weakness to God and put our whole vulnerable selves at his feet, He is best able to work in us and do mighty things.

So I choose to still keep my eyes on Jesus. I choose to thank him each day for healing my mom and EXPECT to see the manifestations of that healing. We choose LIFE and not death for my mom!

He is so faithful.

“Faithful One”

I find no hope within to call my own
For I am frail of heart, my strength is gone
But deep within my soul is rising up a song
Here in the comfort of the faithful one

I walk a narrow road through valleys deep
In search of higher ground, on mountains steep
And though with feet unsure, I still keep pressing on.
For I am guided by the faithful one.

Faithful, faithful to the end,
My true and precious friend,
You have been faithful,
Faithful, so faithful to me

I see your wounded hands, I touch your side
With thorns upon your brow you bled and died
But there’s an empty tomb, a love for all who come
And give their hearts to you, the faithful one.

Faithful, faithful to the end,
My true and precious friend,
You have been faithful,
Faithful, so faithful to me

And when the day is dawned and when the race is run
I will bow down before God’s only Son
And I will lift my hands in praise for all you’ve done
And I will worship you, my faithful one.

2 thoughts on “Faithful One

  1. Kelly, I love this. Very well put. You are so right about us crying out to God in complete vulnerability. He WILL hear our cries and answer our prayers. I BELIEVE it!!
    Love you sister. You are one strong woman.

Leave a Reply

