A sudden change in our path

We found out Friday afternoon that my mom has cancer.

The C-word.

Something I never, ever expected to hear being said about my mother. Something you never, ever want to hear associated with ANY of your loved ones.

And yet, my dad called me in tears, and the first words I hear are, “It’s not good.”

My mom has Stage 4 Colon cancer that has metastasized to the liver and possibly the lymph nodes. She is having surgery tomorrow morning to remove the blockage in her colon and then, depending on what they find in her abdomen, most likely will start chemo in a month after that.

We are all in shock.

My mom is the picture of peacefulness. She said she is trusting God and that He has this all under control.

It is amazingly difficult. But through it all, I know that we have hope in our mighty Jesus. He is the only one who has the power to heal my mom. He is the one who can touch her and have her body made whole again. He is the one in whom we are putting our trust.

What amazes me is that my mom was given a Word of Knowledge about a month or two before this from a woman from my dad’s old church in Medford. She said that she saw a vision of my mom walking on the path of life towards Jesus, who had his arms open waiting for her, but that there were going to be some hurdles during this next stage of her life. She also said that God wanted her to know that Jesus had already TAKEN CARE OF THOSE HURDLES. Amazing.

“The Lord is good, a refuge in times of trouble. He cares for those who trust in him.” Nahum 1:7

2 thoughts on “A sudden change in our path

  1. God bless you and your family. I am so glad that you are all believers in Christ. Imagine getting this news without the security of our Lord… not knowing that He is in control. I pray that you will all feel God’s love and peace so much so that is surpasses your understanding. He will provide all that you need to get through this and more.

  2. My heart hurts for your family. I am also standing in faith with your family that Jesus is in control and that He can heal your mom. My thoughts and prayers are with you guys during this challenging time.

Leave a Reply

